Whittemore Named to All-NAC Second Team; Kretzmer Named to Sportsmanship Team

Whittemore Named to All-NAC Second Team; Kretzmer Named to Sportsmanship Team

CASTINE, Maine -- Maine Maritime Academy's Chase Whittemore (Skowhegan, Maine) has been named to the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) Second Team and junior captain Justin Kretzmer (Glastonbury, Conn.) has been named to the NAC Men's Lacrosse Sportsmanship Team.

Whittemore, a Marine Engineering Technology major, appeared in all 14 games this season and led the Mariners with 26 goals. The junior midfielder also dished out 10 assists, scooped up 46 ground balls and caused eight turnovers. Whittemore tallied seven multi-goal games, including four games where he scored a season-high four goals. In the Mariners 13-2 win over Johnson State, Whittemore scored four goals and dished out three assists, for a season-high seven points.

Kretzmer, a Marine Engineering Operations major, appeared in 13 games for the Mariners and scooped up 33 ground balls while causing 18 turnovers. The NAC Men's Lacrosse Sportsmanship Team is reserved for those who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees are individuals who have positively affected the lacrosse culture and environment and whose behavior clearly demonstrates sportsmanship and integrity that go beyond the playing rules and etiquette.

2017 NAC Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams

To view a PDF list of the All-Conference team click HERE 

First Team
A - Jacob Blanchette, Freshman, New England College
A - Sean Largay, Senior, New England College
A - Matt Richard, Junior, New England College
M - Louis Alhage, Senior, Castleton
M - Daniel Medvetz, Sophomore, New England College
M - Ian Pelkey, Junior, Lyndon
LSM - Connor Fries, Sophomore, New England College
D - Hunter Coakley, Senior, New England College
D - Edward Doton, Junior, Castleton
D - Brandon Hunter, Sophomore, Lyndon
GK - Connor Lamberton, Junior, Thomas
FO - Joshua Gosselin, Junior, Castleton 

Second Team
A - Spencer Aubin, Sophomore, Lyndon
A - Zach Glazier, Sophomore, Husson
A - Sam Siegel, Junior, Castleton
M - Colby Blondin, Junior, Thomas
M - Shea Jones, Sophomore, Lyndon
M - Chase Whittemore, Junior, Maine Maritime
LSM - Peyton Faasse, Sophomore, Castleton
D - Keenan Haase, Freshman, New England College
D - Tyler Haskell, Senior, Husson
D - Alex Lawson, Senior, Thomas
GK - Brandon Myron, Sophomore, Castleton
GK - Jay Palmisano, Senior, Johnson State
FO - Austin Frankel, Sophomore, New England College 

Player of the Year 
Matt Richard, Junior, New England College
Defensive Player of the Year
Connor Fries, Sophomore, New England College
Rookie of the Year 
Jacob Blanchette, Freshman, New England College
Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year
Carl Diethelm, Senior, Green Mountain 
Coach of the Year 
Jedd Brown, Fourth Season, New England College 

Sportsmanship Team
Jacob Boothby, Freshman, Husson
Jasen Dickey, Senior, Thomas
Carl Diethelm, Senior, Green Mountain
Joey Gagne, Senior, Castleton
Justin Kretzmer, Junior, Maine Maritime
William Platt, Sophomore, New England College
Tim Scanlon, Junior, Lyndon
Ethan Wehse, Freshman, Johnson State 

Click HERE to view the complete NAC release.