Maine Maritime Earns Top Seed in 2010 NAC Women's Volleyball Championship

Maine Maritime Earns Top Seed in 2010 NAC Women's Volleyball Championship

Three-time defending champion Maine Maritime will be the top seed in the upcoming North Atlantic Conference Volleyball Championship which will begin first round play Saturday, October 30. The Mariners (15-9 overall) secured the top seed after finishing 6-0 in league play and earned a first round bye in the NAC Tournament. The Mariners will host the semifinals and finals on Friday and Saturday, November 5 and 6.


Tournament action will open on Saturday, October 30 when sixth seed Johnson State (3-17 overall, 1-5 NAC) travels to third seeded University of Maine at Farmington (8-12 overall, 4-2 NAC) in a first round contest. The winner will meet Husson University (18-5 overall, 5-1 NAC) in the semifinals. The Eagles earned the second seed and a first round bye.


Castleton winner (7-11 overall, 3-3 NAC) earned the fourth seed and will host Green Mountain (7-16 overall, 2-4 NAC) on Saturday, October 30. The winner will travel to top seed Maine Maritime for the first semifinal on Friday, November 5.


The top six teams qualify for the NAC Championship. Predetermined tiebreaking procedures were used to seed teams with identical conference winning percentages.


First round games will be played on Saturday, October 30 at the higher seed. Winners will advance to the semifinals held at Maine Maritime Academy on Friday, November 5. Semifinal game times for Saturday are 6:00 pm and 8:00 p.m. with the championship on Saturday, November 6 at 12:00 p.m. The NAC Champion receives an automatic berth to the NCAA Division III Championship.


Championship Bracket

First Round - Saturday, October 30 at higher seeds
(6) Johnson State
  at (3) Farmington  
(5) Green Mountain
  at (4) Castleton
Semifinals - Friday, November 5 at Maine Maritime
Castleton/Green Mountain winner   at (1) Maine Maritime
 6:00 pm
Farmington/Johnson State winner   at (2) Husson  8:00 pm
Championship - Saturday, November 6 at Maine Maritime
Semifinal Winners at 12:00 pm